top of page

Gray is Distinguished


I am fortunate enough to have my two oldest children at school with me each day. My oldest son Chase is a 5th grader and my middle child Carson is a 6 year old in kindergarten. Whenever days can be tough, it's nice to stop by the classroom for a quick hug, smile, or thumbs up. What I had not expected are the moments in school when the wonderful I staff I work alongside enjoys the moments of my children, too.

Carson defies the typical six year old kindergarten student. His personality tends toward having a witty sense of humor. There are times that this sense of humor can provide comical relief to many others, often leading his parent to cringe or wonder in great amazement what Carsonism was created this week.

Carson was working with another student in one to one correspondance in math (matching items with a number). As Carson worked with his partner, our math interventionist noticed Carson's frustration increasing as his friend struggled. Carson, in exasparation, finally shared, " (Student Name) you are giving me gray hairs. You need to hurry up!" When asked where he heard this statement, he shared that it was his older brother.

When we arrived at home that evening and I shared the story at the dinner table, our oldest son quickly reminded the family that he heard it from his every-graying father. Ayi, what we say is heard all the time. They are listening.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page